Unreleased Super Mario Bros 3 box shot historical photo

Did you know this version of Super Mario Bros 3 box art even existed? Neither did I!

Super Mario Bros 3 – unreleased/early box artwork
SMB3 unreleased video game box art
Super Mario Bros 3 – unreleased/early box artwork

Playing & collecting video games isn’t the only thing that I do. I try to search & read as much about Nintendo’s past as possible. Often, I stumble upon things I wasn’t expecting to find. This is what makes my hobby even more interesting. The keyword of today’s game is: Nintendo Historical Photo.

I grew up on Nintendo NES, SNES & Genesis. I thought I’ve seen a lot. Boy, I’m I glad I’m wrong.

There ere few different dates on the back of the photo, which make it confusing to put an exact date, but as you can see it was apparently taken in 1991. According to item’s original description, the photo is 8×10″ and could come from one of the following sources: Chicago Sun-Times, Chicago Daily News, Detroit News, Sport Magazine & others. That’s good to know, perhaps I should dig deeper for some Nintendo photos in Chicago.

Having the real thing would be a great addition to my video collection. I wonder if this box still exists today somewhere in the wild…

Perhaps you have a rare photo related to video game industry that hasn’t seen a light of day. Wanna share?

Photo source: eBay

Leave a Reply

