8 thoughts on “Skip Ltd., – large logo of Japanese game developer

  1. Like many folks into gaming, I collect. Currently, I own somewhere close to 25 hundred games, all either factory sealed or complete, minus the proportionately smaller number of digitally downloaded games. The collection has gotten a bit unwieldy and I can barely keep track of it, so a few years ago, I began a spread sheet to attempt to track what I have (Several times, I’ve bought multiple copies of games because I didn’t realize I already owned them).

    The spreadsheet, on Excel, tracks many aspects of each particular title I own. Physical characteristics, such as conditions of the boxes, manuals, and inserts, but also data about the game itself, such as developer, publisher, date of release, style of interface, included modes of play, etc. Over time, I’ve added and removed columns of what input each entry should have. About a year ago, I added columns for developer logos and publisher logos, so I’m always on the hunt for good quality images of those, as well as decent boxart.

    Generally, I can find at least something of what I’m looking for, but on a few uncommon occasions, I’ll find squat – nothing. Or just a tiny crappy image, as in the case of the developer Skip’s logo. It amazes me how a company that uses or employs artists doesn’t have a nice version of their own logo up on the web. But it happens. At least Skip has a logo – I’ve had a couple of searches that yielded nothing at all! What’s up with that?

    Anyway, I’ll try to wind this up, as this might not be the best place to ramble, a quality I can hardly help. I’ve worked pretty hard on this ‘database’ over years of time now. It’s far from finished, however. I have a wife who pretty much doesn’t play games, but is mildly tolerant of it. I have a baby daughter, so free time is always an issue. On top of all this, I’m old – for a gamer. I’m in my mid 50s. As I’ve gotten older, I find I don’t play as much as I did. I still like to, but I just never have the large chunks of time I used to when I was younger and maybe there are other reasons I’m less aware of. I guess I’m more a collector now than a gamer, but I’m still very interested in games, just a little less so from playing them.

    The database allows me to play with my collection without actually handling the physical games, which believe it or not, I find satisfying, although I’ll always enjoy handling the actual games. I’m in the process of putting some of my older games/systems into storage also. I need to do this for the space, actually, with the baby and all. Plus, as I’ve said, my wife is just barely tolerant of my seemingly youthful hobby.

    I’d be happy to send you a copy of my spreadsheet, just to look at and see where your good work has gone to, or perhaps even to use for self. It can be altered to your tastes as you see fit. Let me know if you’re interested (send email address?).

    Btw, just a little side-note. Did you know that you follow my tumblr account? You were my first, actually, not that there’s many. Nor have I put much time into it. The account is nemonine.

    I really do admire your work here.

    Thanks again for the logo, buddy.

    1. Hi junkwaffle!

      Thank you very much for such in-depth reply.

      I’m pretty close to your number of games. But more & more I tend to sell them (after scanning what I can) and concentrating on Nintendo titles. Actually, I have no idea to the exact number of games I own. I stopped counting long time ago.

      As to your spreadsheet thing, I wanted to do it long time ago but never had the time. But I’d love to see your stuff if possible, and in exchange I can help you with some logos, if I can.

      Speaking about Skip logo, I think they did it intentionally. Or maybe Nintendo told them so???

      So yes, I’d be glad to look at your excel file!

      PS – I”ll send you an email shortly, if you don’t mind :)

  2. Thank you so much for this logo! My poor recreation doesn’t come near this. You may want to note that the P appears to have a small horizontal tail in the original logo. This doesn’t matter, though, as your logo is perfect for what I’m working on. Thanks again!

    1. Hi there! I’m so glad you’ve found it and can use it for your project! I’m sorry, but I didn’t have a higher res logo, so this is the best I could do. If you have a betters sample I’d be glad to rework it and post it again.

      Oh, BTW, would you mind sharing WHAT you’re working on? :)

    1. WOW! Thanks for the slightly better resolution of the logo. Actually, there is a HUGE difference in the typeface!
      Don’t sweat it!? R u kidding me? I’m going to approach it one more time. This time, with more attention to detail. I was working previously from a wiki logo, which has much less detail and I was mostly guessing.
      BTW, I’d checked out your Chibi work on YT! That is amazing! BTW, I do happen to have a Dolphin Dev Kit :). Listen, I’ll re-do the logo in coming days, so be on a lookout for a new post! At least that much I can do to help you in your project.

Leave a Reply

